A puzzle representing Amazon Keyword Research

Introducing Keyword Scout – Amazon Keyword Research Made Easy

Huge news, Freedom Builders! There’s no more guesswork when it comes to Amazon PPC and HSA (headline search ad) keywords. Jungle Scout’s adding a powerful, new Amazon keyword research tool to the mix! It’s like having a marketing crystal ball for your Amazon FBA products.

Check out the benefits of this hot new tool:

  • Get hundreds of keyword suggestions from a keyword or competitor ASIN.
  • Know the exact and broad search volumes for high-converting keywords.
  • Estimate how many daily Jungle Scout promotional giveaways are needed to rank your product.
  • Learn suggested bids for Amazon PPC and HSA ads (PPC coming week of May 21).
  • A Jungle Scout plan includes all of this!

 

The old way of performing Amazon keyword research is dead…

Many of you know the story of how I started selling my own private label products on Amazon FBA. Back then, there weren’t any Amazon product research tools like Jungle Scout to help me figure out my estimates. I had to do the work by hand using an Excel spreadsheet and a hack known as the “999 trick.”

Five years later, Jungle Scout has a team of expert data scientists and a healthy AWS bill to produce the world’s most accurate Amazon sales data with AccuSales™.

But when it came to predicting Amazon costs, I’d just give people rules of thumb; or send them over to a keyword tool like Google or other similar tools out in the market. Essentially, I was still telling people to “build excel spreadsheets” and “do this hack.”

There had to be a better way…

 

Introducing Keyword Scout.

That’s why my team of data scientists and my expert Amazon seller staff put their heads together to come up with the perfect Amazon keyword research tool: Keyword Scout.

Keyword Scout is part of Jungle Scout’s suite of tools. So, if you’re already signed up, put your credit card away.

It’s already included in the deal!

 

How do I use Keyword Scout for my Amazon keyword research?

Just like all of our tools here at Jungle Scout, we wanted to ensure that Keyword Scout was not just powerful, but easy to use, too.

Here’s how you can use Keyword Scout to find profitable keywords in 10 seconds or less:

  1. Login to Jungle Scout
  2. Click the Keyword Scout menu button at the top of the screen. 
  3. Enter your product’s keyword or ASIN and hit enter. You can also specify a category for your search.
  4. Review your keyword opportunities. You can sort them by:
    • Keyword, alphabetically.
    • Exact Match Search Volume. This is the number of times this exact keyword is searched for on Amazon in the past month.
    • Broad Match Search Volume. This is the number of times this keyword and any related keywords such as synonyms, phrases, etc. are searched for on Amazon in the past month.
    • Dominant Category. This is the Amazon category where products related to the selected keyword are found most often.
    • Recommended Giveaway. For your product launch promotions using Jungle Scout, this clues you in on how many units of this product to giveaway daily.
    • HSA Bid. These are the estimated headline search ads bids for the selected keyword.
    • Exact PPC Bid. This is the exact bid to win 90% of keyword bids on Amazon.
    • Broad PPC Bid. This is the broad bid to win 90% of keyword bids on Amazon.
    • Relevancy Score. This is the score ranging from 1 to 100
  5. Export the keywords as a CSV (spreadsheet) file.
  6. Add the keywords into your Amazon listings and sponsored products campaigns.

 

Presto! The mystery is over! That’s how you can find out what your most relevant and profitable Amazon keywords are.

 

How does Keyword Scout help launch products?

Keyword Scout isn’t just your best tool for Amazon keyword research, but it helps with promotional giveaways, too. To the right of the Dominant Category is the Recommended Giveaway column. This column tells you the suggested number of units that you need to giveaway daily on Jungle Scout. And that’s not even the best part!

Jump Scout’s keyword targeting technology ensures that you rank for top keywords on Amazon. Combine that with the recommended giveaways and your Amazon promotions, and watch as your product starts ranking in the Top 5 in as little as 30 days.

Here’s a quick run down of how to launch a new Amazon product using Keyword Scout and Jungle Scout:

  1. Using Keyword Scout, determine the top keywords that you want your product to rank for.
  2. Create an Amazon promotion discounting your product.
  3. If you don’t already have one, get a Jungle Scout account.
  4. Create a listing for your Amazon product promotion
  5. Watch as your promotion goes live.

It’s that simple!

But if you aren’t already using Jungle Scout for product promotions and discounts, click on the button below to learn more.

 

What else can Keyword Scout do?

Estimate your Amazon PPC and HSA costs in advance.

Often, new and aspiring sellers will ask us how to calculate Amazon PPC and HSA costs in advance. With the help of Keyword Scout, it’s now simple! Simply review the keywords and see what the costs are.

Here’s a tip: Amazon conversion rates (that’s the percentage of people who view your product listing and purchase your product) tend to be between 10-15% for products priced under $40. So you can estimate the ACoS (advertising cost of sale) for your Amazon product by first multiplying the keyword’s suggested PPC or HSA cost by 10 (for 10% conversion rate) or 6.67 (for 15% conversion rate) then dividing that number by your product’s target sales price.

For example, if the keyword bamboo stick has a suggested PPC bid of $0.75, at a 10% conversion rate and a sales price of $19.95, your ACoS should be roughly 37.50%. At a 15% conversion rate it will be about 25%.

Discover how many shoppers are searching for products like yours every month.

You probably know how to do effective product research already, using Jungle Scout to estimate the average sales volume per month. But now that you’ve got Keyword Scout in your repertoire, you can see just how many searches are being done with related keywords!

This gives you a huge advantage, because now, not only can you estimate how well products are selling on Amazon using Niche Hunter or Extension, but you can also see how much room in the actual market there is for new sellers.

 

“But Greg, Keyword Scout is not the first Amazon keyword research tool!”

Great point! It’s just the first accurate, quick and easy-to-use Amazon keyword research tool that returns high-quality keywords. We would have loved it if someone else built Keyword Scout first, so we wouldn’t have needed to do it ourselves! 🙂 But what we found, and what our customers told us, was that the other Amazon keyword research tools on the market were seriously lacking.  

To start, their data was inaccurate. The competition estimates Amazon search volumes using Google or Bing data. This probably goes without saying, but those sources tend to lead to very poor quality data.  

People go to Google to search how to do something, while people go to Amazon to search for something to buy. The intent of the user is very different and, therefore, the search phrases and volumes are greatly different.

The other huge problem with the competition’s Amazon keyword research tools is their search results are largely made up of the Amazon autocompletes.  

For example, if I were to type in “bamboo sticks”, our competitors’ returns are usually words like this:

 

Basic keywords generated by Amazon keyword research

Finding NEW keyword ideas

These keywords are kind of decent (trying to be nice here), but they all include the words marshmallow and sticks! That means I could just bid for “marshmallow sticks” in broad match and I would show up for all of those results.

It has given me ZERO new keyword ideas. 🙁

Now let’s take a look at the results in Keyword Scout, for the same seed keyword, Marshmallow Sticks:

List of phrases generated by Amazon keyword research

Wow! Big difference.  

For one, there are 1,293 results instead of 96, and it includes a lot of new keyword ideas that are actually relevant to my product. People use marshmallow sticks for camping, s’mores, fire pits, etc., so these are all excellent keywords to include in my listing! 

Our competitors’ tools wouldn’t have listed these keyword alternatives.  

 

Keyword Scout is for Amazon sellers, by Amazon sellers.

One big thing you’ll always hear us say at Jungle Scout is that we don’t simply “talk the talk”… we “walk the walk”, too. Therefore, when we set out to build an Amazon keyword research tool, we knew we had to make one that sellers actually cared about.

To make that happen, I held over 100 interviews with actual sellers, both on my team and outside of Jungle Scout. The plan? To find out what you, the seller, want. I wanted to make sure that your needs were included in the final product.

Additionally, Keyword Scout is one of the first Amazon keyword research tools made specifically for Amazon keyword research. While Google Keyword Tool and Keywords.io are great for planning, neither tool gives you the raw data and bid values for Amazon keywords.

 

How does Keyword Scout get its data?

The search volume values come straight from Amazon. Seriously.  

These aren’t search volume “estimates” like our competitors use. These are actual search volumes, straight from the source. There is nobody else that has more accurate data; this is as good as it gets!

For the recommended giveaway values, these are derived from helping tens of thousands of sellers launch products on Jungle Scout.  

We’ve helped sellers launch their products through giveaways and can now estimate how many giveaways would be required to rank in the top three spots for a respective keyword.  The number of giveaways shown in Keyword Scout is what would be required for the first 7-7 days to achieve the top three spots.

This value is, of course, an estimate because individuals factors like conversion rate, price, quality of listing, etc. would all come into play. But, it still acts as a great guiding star!

 

How can I get Keyword Scout to help with my Amazon keyword research?

Keyword Scout is part of Jungle Scout’s suite of tools. If you aren’t familiar with Jungle Scout, here are the other tools included with a subscription (tools vary based on the plan you purchase), in addition to Keyword Scout:

  • The Product Tracker. Stalk your competitor’s products, follow sales trends, macro trends, price changes and more. Plus, it integrates with Extension.
  • The Product Database. Looking for an easy way to sort and filter Amazon’s massive product catalog? The Product Database does just that. You can sort products by category, price, ratings, revenue, and more!
  • The Niche Hunter. Want a fast and easy way to find hot-selling Amazon products, without spending hours combing through Amazon’s catalog? Check out the Niche Hunter. Included with Jungle Scout, this tool has helped thousands of sellers find high profit products in a jiff!

 

Read what people are saying about Jungle Scout.

If you’re new to Jungle Scout, you should probably learn why we server more Amazon sellers than any of our competitors combined.

Check out these testimonials!

“My team loves Jungle Scout as it is the best Amazon software out there. I love Jungle Scout’s creator, Greg Mercer. He has a teacher’s heart. (Greg) doesn’t just create a tool. He educates his users all about succeeding on Amazon and using Amazon as a tool for personal success.”

– Robert Kiyosaki, entrepreneur and best-selling author of Rich Dad, Poor Dad

 

“Jungle Scout is the ONE tool I can not live without. There’s ways to use it that simply blow you away once you realize the power of what they can do for your business. A must-have tool for any Amazon seller!”

– Scott Voelker, The Amazon Seller Podcast

For Amazon keyword research and more, we’re here to help! 

One of the things I’m most proud of with this company is how we’ve got a full-time staff of Amazon expert customer success specialists to help our customers. This team of 20+ rock stars works around the clock, 24-hours a day, 365 days per year, to answer all of your Jungle Scout and Amazon selling questions.

On average, 97% of people who talk to our support team give us great ratings!

 

Start your Amazon keyword research off right! 

We’re very excited about Keyword Scout – our powerful Amazon keyword research tool – and we hope you are, too. Already, for the folks who are a part of the Jungle Scout team of expert sellers, this fun tool has been a total game-changer. Myself included!

If you want to build a successful Amazon FBA business and crush it with Amazon PPC, then do yourself a huge favor and subscribe to Jungle Scout today.

 

74 comments on “Introducing Keyword Scout – Amazon Keyword Research Made Easy

  1. Hey Guys, I love this tool. However, I can´t use it as I´m in Germany. Any news on when it will be available here?
    Also, meanwhile any tips on how I could predict the ppc costs here?
    I thought about creating a product listing with any product idea just to check what Amazon suggests but as I have to type in a sku/ean product code, I´m not sure if it works. Afraid to type in a random number as it says that they check every code.

  2. Hi, this tool makes the Web App much much interesting in the long term. I would like to know what do you consider a good exact match and broad match volume. I am on the product research phase and until now I had a guideline for results found with another tool. I would love to use your results from now on, but first I need to know what is a good search volume with it. As this will be my frst product and I have a tight budget $1000-$1500, I guess that there will be a top celing of “too much search volume” to start small and grow from there. Please help!

    1. Hi,

      Personally, I like stuff with 3,000 plus. Honestly though, if it’s a good long tail keyword, as long as the PPC cost is cheap and the keyword is relevant, I’ll go for anything that works so long as it can bring in sales.

  3. Hello,

    I wonder if I can export all keyword scout to one csv file instead of maximum 200 per csv. For the high competion products, it is ofen that one ASIN can be ranked/indexed for thousand of keywords.

  4. Hi Jungle Scout,

    I am a bit confused.. Jungle Scout is available in India.. No doubts.. Keyword scout tool is also available for India.. This is also clear.. But is Keyword scout available for Indian Amazon market?? Means can i use Keyword Scout for seeing search volumes that correspond to Amazon India – or simply it exists in Jungle Scout for me to use for other marketplaces??

  5. Do you believe that “camera backpack” has <5 search volume in a month on Amazon.com?
    It's the data I got from keyword scout and I really doubt that.

      1. I know camera bag would be used the most but camera backpack is the fourth auto-completed word on Amazon when typing “camera”, prior to “camera memory card” “camera case” etc.
        I wouldn’t doubt that if it only has 1/10 or 1/20 search volume of camera bag but <5 is really confusing.

        1. Hey Andy,

          Yeah, taking a closer look, I see your point. Interestingly, long tail and branded searches for camera backpack produce results, such as canon camera backpack or hiking camera backpack, but not camera backpack itself.

          The only explanation I can think for this is because Amazon doesn’t give BSR information for the category “Camera.” So unless the camera itself is in a category other than cameras it won’t show up. Looking at our competition, it seems they have similar issues trying to get accurate data for camera related goods.

          Meanwhile, “hiking backpack” probably falls under Sports/Outdoors, therefore, we can pull BSR and search data from it. Judging by the reviews, though, it looks to be an incredibly competitive field.

  6. I’m using Helium 10 along with JS simultaneously for double checking the results and I found most of the keywords has similar search volume in two software while some keywords have thousands of searches in Helium 10 but 5< in JS. I couldn't choose which one I should believe.
    What do you think about this?

    1. Hey Jack,

      Good question. And it really depends on the keyword. I do know that the big difference between us and our competitors is that we get our information straight from Amazon, whereas many of our competitors get their information from Google. Since Google searches don’t always have buying intent, the data may be misconstrued.

      Honestly, I’d vote on the side of caution. Because it’s far worse to pick something that tells you its good and turns out its not than to pick something that looks bleh and turns out to be great. 🙂

  7. Why is it that when you search by ASIN you will get competitor brand names in the keyword list? Does it mean that the listing has these brand names in it somewhere – say in the back end? Are the keywords shown actually all in the listing of that ASIN or are they just associated with that type of product?

      1. I’ve heard from a top seller that his account was warned by Amazon because of using competitors’ brand names in backend search term.

  8. I couldn’t find any result or very few words for some products in reverse search. They rank at 2-3 page of a high search volume keyword. I think that’s impossible to occupy the place with 10-20 words indexed.

      1. I forgot which ASIN I searched before. But I can find one in a short time.
        For example, B072KNB86W, it has 47 reviews and on the second page of laptop bag(not sponsored product), which is a highly competitive keyword but there are only 3 results in keyword scout search.

        B075R15BVX, which is on the second page of kitchen faucet (another competitive word) and has 25 reviews(not a crazy number but I think it does convert), has only 12 results in keyword scout.

        The other thing is that it appears on the second page of my search term but my search term is not in the result of keyword scout. So I wonder what do the results of keyword scout ASIN search mean? Are they backend search terms, keywords indexed or customer search terms to the product page? My keyword strategy might be different depends on what kind of data I would get.
        Thanks.

        I really hope that I could filter the results by search volume numbers, word numbers and more in keyword scout in the future.

        1. Awesome questions, Jack! When you do the reverse ASIN look ups, it actually pulls the keywords that product ranks for that it’s in the TOP 10 of. Pretty cool, right? So, for example, the laptop bag pulls for 87 keywords (on the search I did today). That means for every single one of those keywords, it’s in the Top 10 for that particular keyword. Neat, right?

          On the other hand, keyword lookup does a broad match for all keywords related to that search term.

          Hope that makes sense!

  9. Hello,
    I’ve removed a keyword a few months ago but I found it might be a word performing above average.
    Do I have to re-build my ranking of this word?

    Btw, if you could apply some filter to keyword scout it would be great. For example, the number of words to get long-tail words more easily.

    1. Hey Jack,

      Thanks for the suggestion!

      As far as ranking for that word again, you can of course use PPC campaigns to get back where you are. Plus, Jump Send now uses keyword targeted URLs, so you can do a promotional campaign with Jump Send to regain your spot.

  10. Hey,

    I have a question. When using Jungle scout, can i use it on 2 different computers? Becase we are into it with my companion and we wanna be doing research at the same time on different places.

    Thank you for answer

    1. Hey John,

      It depends what version of the Web App you have, if you have the Start Up plan for one user only, you probably won’t be able to be logged in to the same account on more than one device. Bumping up to the Standard plan would allow you up to two users on the app at the same time.

      Hope that helps!
      Melissa

  11. I am a little skeptical that “your data comes straight from Amazon”. All these while, as far as I know, Amazon is a like big black box in that they don’t share keyword search volumes or PPC bid amounts to any company. Are you saying now that Amazon has allowed Jungle Scout to glean such data from them?

  12. Hello, we are using Jungle scout chrome extension and Fetcher, really nice tools. We are selling on amazon.us. Is there a good article on Amazon Vendor program. We’ve been invited and wanted to see some info on the subject, a blog post or something. Thanks.

  13. I just got the JS web app and was pleasantly surprised to see this new addition. Great stuff! Are there any plans to include the Australian market in the near future?

    1. Dave,

      Absolutely. Basically, the plan is to do the full launch later this week (which will include even MORE info) and then start heading into different markets. So it’ll be soon. Just want to make sure everything’s perfecto first. 🙂

  14. Any update on when the Suggested PPC Bid field will become available?

    “Suggested PPC bid. This is the estimated exact bid PPC rate for the selected keyword (coming week of May 21st).”

  15. This looks awesome! That being said, I’m not 100% convinced. I thought Amazon was very tight lipped about providing search data, so how can you claim to have an “exact match”. It just seems like a sensational claim. Surely there must be some margin of error no? I know Merchantwords is not accurate based on the subscription I had with them, so I’m cautious with these types of tools. Not saying you’re lying, it just seems like a really bold claim to make with no proof. Can you ease my suspicion so I can purchase? Thanks! 😊

    1. Hey Dillon,

      While we can’t give away the exact details of how we get the data from Amazon (trade secret, etc.), I can tell you the numbers match up with actual Amazon data. One thing I know about Greg is that he doesn’t put out false claims. Which, as a blogger for Jungle Scout, can sometimes be a headache! LOL… but in a good way.

      For one thing, HSA costs are given straight from Amazon Seller Central anyways. Anybody that can get HSA can see what the ads cost simply by using the campaign editor. So that’s nothing new there.

      From my own personal experience, though, I had three of my products bump up $1,700 in 10-days. My profit margins got a little slimmer (mostly because I just stuck in over 900 keywords lol), but that’ll just take some time to adjust ACoS, etc. Even before I started writing for JS, I used the products. This is seriously my favorite tool ever. Not only is it good for checking out ad costs and price points, but I’ve been using it for ideation, too.

      My suggestion is to check it out, see if it works. If you’re not crazy about it, we back it up with a 14-day money back guarantee. 🙂

      So give it a shot and let us know what you think. 🙂

  16. Hello, great addition to the Jungle Scout suite. However, could you guys please explain what makes your tool better than Viral Launch? They’ve had this feature for some time now, so this is definitely nothing new here.

    1. Hey Ray,

      Great question! And VL definitely has a neat little tool. And heck, they even put out theirs first. Which, believe it or not, is great for us, because we could actually take a look at what works and what doesn’t with their product and try to make ours 10x better, which is what we did.

      Here’s some of the biggest differences you’ll see.

      First, our data comes straight from Amazon and isn’t an estimation based on Google Ads.

      Additionally, unlike our friends at VL, there’s no extra cost to get the tool, versus VL’s keyword tool which is an additional subscription amount. It comes as part of the Web App package in Startup, Standard, and Business with no features deprecated for using the entry-level packages. With VL, to get 8 out of the 14 advertised features, you’ll need to go to their full “PRO” plan.

      Plus, our tool offers thousands of keywords by ASIN or input topic, whereas VL only offers hundreds and doesn’t pull data based on competitor ASINs.

      TL;DR – More keywords, more accurate, and it’s all included in the basic set. 🙂

  17. Will you soon offer this as an add-on to the jungle scout chrome extension? Or as a separate option outside of the web app? Really interested in using this, but I do not need the web app.

    1. Felicia,

      That’s a great question!After all, we love the Chrome Extension. However, I think you’ll find that the Web App offers a ton of great tools to help complement your Amazon selling experience including the Product Tracker, Niche Hunter, and Product Database. Furthermore, we’ll be adding more and more tools to it this year and beyond, so it’ll only become more and more powerful for Amazon sellers.

      Regardless, once we get the Web App version perfected, we may look into adding it to the Chrome Extension.

    1. Hi Deepak,

      The Jungle Scout Web App (which includes Keyword Scout) and Extension are indeed available in India, while some of our other apps are still expanding into your market. We will notify all members when they become available. Hope that helps!

      Melissa

  18. Awesome addition since I already have the Web App!!! In the MDCS last year, Kym shared her technique of using Google Adwords/Ahrefs/LSI graph based methodology for keyword research. Do you recommend that method still, or is keyword scout meant to be a more direct tool ?

    Thanks,
    YP

    1. Hey YP,

      Glad to hear you’re excited about the new addition! We’ve always recommended everyone do a thorough keyword research using several research methods, however, Keyword Scout has a lot more bells and whistles that other tools do not. The keyword results are pulled directly from Amazon which is exactly what you need to zone in on, and you can start estimating the costs to run PPC campaigns before you even make your product selection. Let us know how it goes!

      Melissa

    1. Hi Sun,

      That should be coming this week. We had a little design hiccup (it’s hard to cram all this great info into 900 pixels of width, haha!), but we’re looking to put out the full version this week. Thanks for keeping up with us!

  19. Will there be a video or tutorial coming out to see how you now build a listing with this data? And also, what is soon with the keyword scout coming to Germany (europe)? Is that 1 week or more like a month ? CANT WAIT!!!!! Looks great jungle scout!

    1. Hey Yannick,

      Now that we’ve had our initial launch, we’re making sure all of the features are up and running and then we’ll start rolling it out to all the other marketplaces! Our team is currently working on a video so check back with us soon. Glad you’re as excited as we are!

      Melissa

      1. Are there any news about, when it will be available in Germany? Was more or less the main reason why I bought JungleScout.
        Thanks

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